© 2019 by Westminster Hall and Burying Ground. 

School and Private Tours

Westminster Hall and Burying Ground remains temporarily closed to ensure the health and safety of our visitors and staff. We continue to monitor updates regarding COVID-19 and will adjust schedules and events accordingly. If you have questions, contact info@westminsterhall.org.

 

People have traveled far and wide to visit historic Westminster Hall, the Burying Grounds and Catacombs. Guests have the opportunity to explore one of Baltimore’s oldest cemeteries which contains tombs of prominent political, military and business leaders, four of the city’s earliest mayors, a number of generals from the American Revolution and War of 1812 and the grave of Edgar Allan Poe!  All told, the cemetery is the final resting place for hundreds of people of all faiths. 

The Burying Ground is open to the public daily during daylight hours: 
Summer 8:00 am to 7:00 pm 
Fall 8:00 am to 6:00 pm 
Winter 8:00 am to 5:00 pm 
Spring 8:00 to 6:00 pm 

If the main cemetery gates are not open during these times please call 410-706-6882 for University of Maryland Baltimore Security to unlock them. 

Tours with Baltimore Heritage (May 2nd and June 6th)

Westminster Hall and Burying Ground have partnered with Baltimore Heritage to bring you The Catacombs Under Westminster: "Two Hundred Years of Tombs and Edgar Allan Poe’s Gravesite."  To register for an upcoming tour with Baltimore Heritage, click your date of interest above.

Private/School Tours 
Tours may be scheduled at other times for any size group.  Reservations and a deposit are required at least two weeks prior to the tour date. Prices for private tours vary depending on date/time. Tours last approximately one hour and include the Burying Ground, Catacombs, Westminster Hall (if available), and a fifteen minute film on the history of the Burying Ground.  Tours can be scheduled between 9:00 am and 9:00 pm, pending tour guide and date availability. To schedule a school or private tour contact 410-706-2072 or email 
info@westminsterhall.org.

Public Guided Tours 

Fridays (at 6:30 p.m.) and Saturdays (at 10 a.m.) of each month May - November.  Reservations and a deposit are required; a total of 15 people are needed to run the tour.  Fees are $5.00 for adults, children 5 and under FREE. Register by contacting 410-706-2072 or email info@westminsterhall.org.

 

Tour dates: 

Friday, May 1, 2020

Friday, May 15, 2020 and Saturday, May 16, 2020

Friday, June 5, 2020

Friday, June 19, 2020 and Saturday, June 20, 2020

Independence Day - Closed Friday and Saturday

Friday, July 17, 2020 and Saturday, July 18, 2020

Friday, August 7, 2020 and Saturday, August 8, 2020

Friday, August 21, 2020 and Saturday, August 22, 2020

Friday, September 4, 2020 and Saturday, September 5, 2020

Friday, September 18, 2020 and Saturday, September 19, 2020

Friday, October 2, 2020 and Saturday, October 3, 2020

Friday, October 16, 2020 and Saturday, October 17, 2020

Friday, November 6, 2020 and Saturday, November 7, 2020

Friday, November 20, 2020 and Saturday, November 21, 2020